birmingham.io

Using Ansible to build a Raspberry Pi

I recently mentioned on the board that I’ve been using Ansible to build my Raspberry Pi with the Raspbian GNU/Linux operating system. I’m by no means an expert, but I’ve been through some of the learning curve with Ansible, and found it pretty easy to get started with. Should anyone need a tool for server rebuild, I can recommend it with the same enthusiasm with which it was originally recommended to me!

I thought I’d pop down a simple HOWTO for people to try here - so if you have half an hour spare, give this a whirl. Bear in mind I am handling server secrets wrongly, but I don’t presently have high-security requirements, and in any case I will fix this in due course. If you don’t have a Pi to hand, just install Vagrant instead and set up the default Ubuntu VM via VirtualBox.

Here’s some quick terminology:

• Playbook - a folder containing a set of Ansible configuration files for a specific purpose. The whole thing is usually stored in a version control system so it is easy to push around and share.
  • Tasks - server configuration that is run if the box needs it. Note that installing Apache in Ansible on a box that already has Apache installed will do nothing, by design - it works out what needs to happen and only does it if necessary.
  • Modules - pieces of Ansible functionality to update a box in a particular way e.g. a Git update. There is a Core set of module maintained by the Ansible team, but there are many more, either in their Extras set, or maintained by third parties.
  • Roles - a set of tasks for a particular purpose e.g. a web server.
  • Handlers - bits of code that are run if a task needed running. For example, you want to bounce Apache if a vhost definition changed, but not otherwise. This takes care of that.
  • Variables - bits of information gathered in one place. Useful for storing server addresses, environment variable values, whatever you like.