The cloud and customer choice

(Andy Wootton) #1

“I’m no expert but:” It’s a pity there’s a Microsoft Cloud and a Google Cloud and an Amazon Cloud and a Dropbox Cloud isn’t it? That’s a lot of meetings that don’t make my life easier or encourage competition via customer choice. I guess the ones that grab market share first win the game? If there were (more obviously?) Open Cloud standards, I’d probably use more cloudy things. I’d like a layer that abstracts away the implementer’s details, so I’m not technically tied to an organisation that is then commercially free to disappoint me.

I’m sure some people will say standards stifle competition and I’d accept that, if there were any evidence that service providers want competition. Historically, the choices were to either stifle monopolists young (like AT&T’s attempt to compete with IBM, which led to free Unix then Linux) or too late, after monopoly practices have taken hold, which gave us phones made by either Apple or Google, in the US and China. It just isn’t Brexit.

Microsoft Cloud User Group - 18th May
(Matt Andrews) #2

Have you come across OpenStack? It’s not exactly what you describe here but the closest thing I could think of.

The community could also probably take something like troposphere (which is an abstraction layer on top of AWS’ Cloudformation, which it itself Amazon’s proprietary “standard” for configuring cloud setups) and make it output an equivalent for Microsoft / Google / Dropbox / RyanAir / whoever else comes up with their own cloud service.

(Andy Wootton) #3

I kind of have @mattpointblank, because https://www.ubuntu.com/cloud/openstack but at the time it was competing against another standard and the Linux vendors were choosing sides, ready for another stupid scrap :slight_smile: