Sublime vs. PHPStorm

(Chris Vickers) #1

Which one is better?

I have been using PHPStorm for many years using Codeigniter and now have migrated to Laravel.

I have seen some people use Sublime 3 text editor with additional plugins to get Blade syntax working and other nice premium IDE features.

What are peoples preferences over this?

Which IDE do you recommend?
Which IDE do you recommend?
(Daniel Hollands) #2

Hi @CodingRebel, welcome to the community.

The thing you need to understand is that Sublime and PHPStorm are different things - Sublime is a text editor, whereas PHPStorm is an IDE.

I’ll admit that Sublime is a very advanced text editor, with the ability to use packages which add lots of additional functionality (such as syntax highlighting, etc…), but at the end of the day, it’s just a text editor.

An IDE is a lot more than just a text editor, offering tools such as a debugger, the ability to start a server, intelligent auto-complete of method names, built in composer support, built in vagrant support, lots of helper functionality, and lots more beside.

So (and I mean this in the nicest possible way) I think you’re asking the wrong question. Neither one of them is better, because they’re different things which cater to different audiences, and are ultimately designed for different purposes.

To try and provide you with an answer surrounding your question of the Blade syntax specifically however, back when I was doing Laravel I used PHPStorm for everything except editing of blade files. This is much for the reasons you’ve suggested (better support of blade formatting in Sublime).

That was a few months ago however, and having just done a quick search, it turns out that PHPStorm will soon (if not already) have baked in support for Blade.

I hope this helps :smile:

(James Jeffery) #3