Sooo.......Im job hunting (covers face)

(Daveyon Mayne) #1

Has anyone talked about their hard times starting out in web development? Thanks to all who have replied to all my posts made on here; I’ve taken everything onboard and will apply all in my future work or job.

I’ve been developing personal projects mainly to get exposed to programming. I do not have parents that could afford university etc so I relied on doing it my own; with books and online videos. I had fun doing those side projects as I was working part-time, in a local computer repair shop but my time there will end in the coming days. It’s time to pull my socks up, give up what I was working on and find a job. A job as a junior developer or an intern. Is there something lower? I’ll take it.

Yesterday I’ve started applying directly to companies. My CV is very thin and my question is, what is required for a junior or intern web developer? Based on my side projects, how to tailor? My self taught skills are ruby, js and yes html and css. I dabbed into php few years ago but I did focused on ruby in greater.

Most jobs I see, here in the midlands, required first class knowledge of php. How can/should I approach those companies? I do learn fast and can convert. Ruby has made this possible. How can a person like me get through that company’s door and start from a basic job? Basic in other language a part from ruby.

It took guts for me to post this. I’ve never really applied for jobs as I feel I’m no match for others with their qualifications behind or in front their names. I remembered sucked at an interview: I could not convert a string to an array LOL! I laugh so hard when I left the interview. My brain clogs up; I look stupid.

All in all. I am job hunting. If php is the go to for jobs, then so be it.

One project I’ll never give up and that’s my baby: (slow load time on heroku). It was on hold as I was waiting on Spree Commerce to be compatible with Rails 5.

(Steve Pitchford) #2