Prepay credit cards (specifically, overseas)

(Daniel Hollands) #1

I’m headed to Iceland in December, and seeing as it’s a modern nation which understands the benefits of plastic:

Icelanders love credit and debit cards, and will commonly whip one out just to buy an ice cream cone. Most shops and tourist establishments accept credit cards; you can even charge a taxi ride. Visa and MasterCard are the most widely accepted, though American Express and Diner’s Club are useful as well. Electron, Maestro, and EDC debit cards are increasingly accepted at retail stores. [source]

I’m looking to load up a prepay credit card for use while I’m over there, so I don’t need to exchange cash and carry it about with me.

This raises some issues for me, however - I’ve never used a prepay credit card before, and while I’m sure they’re simple in theory (load it with money, spend money), I have no idea how much they’re likely to cost - especially seeing as I want to load it with krona.

Basically, I’m looking for some advice. Is the idea of a prepay credit card for Iceland a good one? Or am I better off just using my British debit/credit card as-is - or maybe the whole idea is silly and I should just stick with cash?

Cheers.

Using your mobile phone abroad
(Marc Cooper) #2

The first time I paid for a taxi ride in-car electronically was 1994 in Sweden.

When I’m making a short trip to a country these days, I usually just use my regular credit and debit cards, and often withdraw some cash on my debit card from a local ATM. (Large hotels usually have them.)

(Daniel Hollands) #3

Does that generally work out better value than having it exchanged in the UK?

According to Insight Guides, it’s better to exchange your money over there, as doing it in the UK will give a poor exchange rate.