Ottitia - Drop and Rename?

(Daveyon Mayne) #1

IOttitia has come a long way. This was the only project that led me deep in the JavaScript world and deeper in Ruby and Rails itself. It was fun while still learning – I was teaching myself programming as I go along. It was tough but I know I’ve reached far.

Although Ottitia is still a dormant limited company, I’ll still keep the name and/or change it in the near future. I have another project that can go in its place. The drop of Ottitia came from the many feedbacks and advices I’ve been given. I took them onboard and decided to obey. One was:

Dave, you have a good model but it really solves nothing much. Even if it did, you’ll be faced with many legal issues, taxes, etc. Take my silly advice, start over again but this time with less future stress.

If none of you never knew this, I’m an electrician by trade. I’m in the field and I wanted to know what my exact take-home pay was, knowing what I could claim and how to pay less taxes (no loopholes). While calculators are great, I dont see much with expenses baked in. I was playing with a project for like two hours a day and I’m falling in love. Something I could actually use for myself. Trade work is not constant, today you’ll do a job and next month it’s quiet. This tool will be free. I’ll make it free. The paid section would be in a form of an umbrella company.

One day at a time. Once I’ve crossed that bridge, I’ll investigate and apply the right thing.

The dashboard looks like this:

Not sure someone would be working for two different agencies at the same time but I needed to see what two looked like. And the timesheet: