Learning your second or third programming language

(Daniel Hollands) #1

When learning a second or third programming language, how do you survive re-learning the introductory concepts that you already know (variables, operators, conditionals, etc…), without getting bored?

I’m currently doing an Android game development course on FutureLearn, and we’re just covering the basics of all the above thing - and it’s boring me to tears.

I get that many (if not most) of the people doing this course will be total beginners, and need to understand this stuff - but there has to be a better way than spending half an hour talking theory about them? For me it’s boring, but for everyone else, I’d imagine it’s possibly overwhelming?

Maybe the course I’m doing isn’t best suited to me for this reason, and that I might be better off jumping in the deep end - I don’t know.

What do you think?

(Andy Wootton) #2

Wrong course. They have to be written for a target level of knowledge and you aren’t at it. There will be such a course though, because your skills are not ancient.

I have the same problem but when I find a professional level ‘conversion’ text, it assumes I’m converting from a level of knowledge of another language that I don’t have either. It’s a long-standing problem for me because I tried to learn C++ without ever learning C properly. Now I’m learning Clojure without any knowledge of functional programming. Luckily, Lisp is so weird I am a beginner :slight_smile:

(Daniel Hollands) #3

Thing is, I’m not even doing it because I have any ambition to build android apps (and if I did, I’m far more likely to do it using Xamarin).

I guess I’m doing it more to get a peek at this beast I’ve heard so much about (Java), and see if I can pick up some tips on building real-time stuff (coming from a background of building Web apps, this is a whole new thing for me).

Maybe I should focus on C instead, seeing as I plan on doing more home electronics using the Arduino.