Jupyter Notebooks

(Andy Wootton) #1

I’ve seen a few comments about Jupyter ‘computational notebooks’. I’ve done a bit of reading and thought about writing a ‘What I Know Is’ mini-essay but I decided an open question might be more helpful, so: “what about Jupyter then; what’s that good for?”

(Marc Cooper) #2

I used Jupyter recently for exploring a bunch of AI stuff in python. It’s useful to be able to split a task into sub-tasks in Jupyter then only run the stuff you update – handy when there’s bunch of computation, for example. Embed pics is a bonus.

I’m no expert in either Jupyter nor python, but I found the environment easy to explore, learn, and use.

I use wolfram quite a bit, and I’d love them to implement some of Jupyter’s ideas.

(Marc Cooper) #3

I just reinstalled Sagemath and discovered that they now use Jupyter.

(Andy Wootton) #4

Thanks @auxbus.

I’ve been playing with a graph library in Clojure, so using a REPL from inside emacs. I’ve been writing quite a lot of notes to myself as comments. When I read about Jupyter, it seemed a similar idea but with better formatting and no hard line-breaks. Am I missing any other advantages? At the moment, the extra benefits don’t seem worse the faff. I seem to need Python, a web server and 1 of a selection of Clojure add-ons.

I’ve not found a clear description of the use-case envisaged by the developers. Everyone seems to assume its obvious. Is it a lab notebook for software experiments; a deliberate intertwingling of code, data and documentation?

(Andy Wootton) #5

Is the following correct?:

A notebook exists as a JSON file but is served up as a web service by a notebook server. The notebook server is written in Python so requires a Python environment.

A kernel runs the code. The default is the iPython kernel, clearly for Python. Other kernels can be added for other languages, which make a connection to a different environment.

(Marc Cooper) #6