birmingham.io

Hi, I'm Paul ^_^

Hi Birmingham.io,

I’m Paul, a twenty three year old web developer currently living in the Jewellery Quarter.

I’ve been working with PHP/WordPress for the past two years since University and am currently looking to transition into full stack/JS development (isn’t everyone? :smile: )

I’ve just been to my first Tech Wednesday (I saw the birmingham.io link on the telly), will be going to the next Hydrahack and went to last year’s Canvas Conference. I’m kinda new to getting myself to meet-ups (hello Impostor Syndrome!) so if anyone has any recommendations I’m all ears.

I’m currently online at selfstarter.pt but (as expected) my site is a long way off what I want it to be. I’m a big fan of the IndieWeb movement so this is the direction I’ll be (trying to) take it in. I’d love to find out if there are any other IndieWebbers in Birmingham and potentially set up a meet up.

:wave:

– Paul

Welcome to the show that never ends. :slight_smile: You’d likely like Silicon Canal, which has a reasonable cross-section of people in the Brum tech scene, although it slants a little startup-wise.

1 Like

Hi Paul :smile:

I’m glad at least one person saw (and acted upon) it. I just wish I’d spelt it correctly.

So I’m about as introverted and antisocial as you can get :squirrel:, so much so that for the first meetup I went to (a Birmingham Open Code one, back before the summer) I brought a (non-coder) friend to act as a buffer. They were all so friendly and welcoming, however, that it’s given me a bit (not a lot, but a bit) more confidence for other meetups.

Something else I’ve noticed is you start to see the same people at different events, so you go and talk with them, and as a side effect, they’ll introduce you to whoever they’re talking with, and that’s another person you know, who you may see at yet another event.