Hi, I'm Matt, and I'm a programmer

(Matt Randell) #1

Hello, everyone!
I’m Matt, and I’m a 16 year old programmer that lives near Birmingham.

My main interests are in full stack web development (HTML/CSS/JS with Node, usually), and rich media applications such as games. Recently I’ve also gained an interest in hardware and have been making projects with my arduino.

I’ve been a Young Rewired State Festival of Code attendee since 2012 and since then I’ve been in the semi finals, my latest one can be found here. It’s a realtime multiplayer game built by me and 2 friends with WebGL and websockets in under a week.

I volunteer as a mentor for Rebel Uncut’s Rebel Makers club, which is a monthly club for anyone interested in developing hardware & software projects.

I’m also looking for work experience, or small amounts of part-time work.

I’m a Windows person myself, but I prefer to do most of my development inside a Linux VM if possible.

If you’d like to know more about me or my projects, just let me know, I’m happy to share. I’m working on my website but it won’t be ready to go live for a while.

(Stuart Langridge) #2

Welcome to the funhouse, Matt!

(Andy Wootton) #3

Welcome @Matt. I helped out at BCU for FoC this year. Something that amazed me was that I didn’t hear anyone express any preference for an OS for 3 days, until I asked what they were using. Everything was web. There were no issues until they started to prepare slides which moved from Google for web access to Windows for more features to OS X for better multi-media, before ‘getting webbed’ again. Interesting to me then that you call yourself “a Windows person”.

(Daniel Hollands) #4

Hi, and welcome.