Hello - I'm Steve, and I'm a polyglot programmer

(Stephen Orr) #1

That’s my confession out of the way then…

I’m a Senior Developer working for Siftware; they’re based out of Shrewsbury, but I get away with only going to the office one day a week. Remote work is absolutely awesome.

My day job is PHP, and that’s been the case since 2006. I’ve worked with most of the major frameworks - Zend Framework, Symfony, CakePHP - although I’m really not interested in Laravel, despite its popularity.

Around the same time as I started working with PHP commercially, I came across Ruby (take into account that this was back in 2006, right when Rails was at the top of its hype cycle). I’ve been dabbling with it ever since, and I’ve tried to convince every employer I’ve ever had to at least consider it. Usually the problem has been “oh, none of our other developers know Ruby, and we don’t want to cross-train them”. That’s a valid concern, of course, but I’ve found that through applying techniques I’ve learned in the Ruby world, my PHP code has become significantly better (for example: test-driven development is something many PHP devs ignore, but it’s a key factor for many Ruby devs - primarily because their tools make it easy).

A couple of years ago I signed up to be a Technical Reviewer for the Pragmatic Bookshelf. As a result, I’ve been exposed to a lot of great books and I’ve gotten my name in print a few times - check the acknowledgements of some of their recent titles :slight_smile: Most recently I reviewed the upcoming Rails 5 edition of Agile Web Development with Rails, but I did the Rails 4 edition too.

I’ve dabbled with JavaScript, but so far I haven’t seen any particular advantages to using Node on the server side. Maybe I’m missing something, but I prefer to avoid callback hell :slight_smile: Likewise, on the front-end I’m ignoring the hip new technologies like Angular and React. I’ll use them when I find that I can’t do what I need to any other way.