Hello, I'm Iain and I'm here (and there sometimes)

(Iain Woolley) #1

Hello

I’m Iain, and I’m an engineer working for an investor/incubator as a mentor. My background is electronics and software, having spent 10 years in researching and developing novel (neural nets, genetic algorithms, etc.) industrial process monitoring and control software, and then 10 years developing front-line kit for our defence forces, as well as other harsh environment markets such as oil & gas and mining. It’s been an interesting journey, for sure, as I’ve worked in start-ups, SMEs and blue chip corporations. My hobbies are photography and motorbikes, but that’s a whole other topic!

I’ve been living in Shropshire for a few years, and last year I started working for Reply SpA, to help them set up an incubator for entrepreneurs developing Internet of Things solutions, called Breed Reply. So far we’ve invested over £4.5m in seed funding for 6 start-ups, doing things like wearables, smart home systems, industrial comms systems, and energy analysis. My role is to support the founders of the companies we work with, especially their technical lead, in building their product, their team, and their working practices. My colleagues do likewise, in areas such as business strategy, sales & marketing, manufacturing & logistics, etc.

We’re always on the look out for IoT start-ups that need support, so you’ll find me at Tech Wednesday most months. (Let me know where else I ought to be lurking as well!) Whilst our UK office is in London, we’re well aware that there’s a thriving tech scene in the Midlands, so we’re not just looking in Shoreditch for the next big thing. If you’re just starting out with a great idea and are weighing up your options, I’m always available for a conversation to see if we’re a good match for you.

Cheers, Iain

(Stuart Langridge) #2

Welcome to the forum, Iain! I suspect there are a few people with ideas who might talk to you about things :slight_smile:

(Daniel Hollands) #3