Frontend JS framework?

(Daniel Hollands) #1

I’m sure the answer to this is probably very subjective, and different people will have different preferences - but I figure it’s worth asking all the same…

… as a Rails developer looking to get into frontend SPA development, what framework would you recommend?

I have very little experience in this area, and often hear people talking about React this, or Angular that, using yarn for package management, and webpack for god-knows-what, but as you can probably tell, I’m not fully sure what any of it really is, or how it can fit into what I’m trying to achieve.

I’m pretty standard so far as rails development goes, and am happy enough using its views and other presentation features, but I’ve got ambition to learn API development, and figure I need something to consume the API, hence the question above.

Sorry if I’m asking anything silly, but I’m really out of touch with the client side world, and need a quick catch me up to figure out what’s going on.

Cheers.

(Jon) #2

I asked a related question not so long back.

My current view is that the JS ecosystem is already too complicated, and still in flux, so anyone used to settled and mature ecosystems (in other languages) will already need to adjust their expectations.

I had a quick look at the Vue documentation, and chatted to someone who was using it. It looks way simpler than Angular and React, and when I have a chance to do some JS, I think Vue will be the first on my list to try. Paraphrased, my interlocutor said:

React was written by very clever people who believe that every problem needs to be code-golfed to perfection

I tried a bit of React, and I agree! I am not averse to going back to it, but simple is good.

(Andy Wootton) #3

There’s an Angular Meetup at 1000 Trades next Tuesday. I discovered this from an analogue board in the gents. I’ll now go and check if it’s on the calendar.

It is, and twice on Wednesday :-/

(Daniel Hollands) #4