Contact form & email deployment project

(Jon) #1

I think that folks here might be interested in my current tech project. Since I am still a contractor, I am taking a voluntary break from full-time client work to build my own software, with the hope of turning something into an income stream.

Some of you may recall that I was building a recruitment search engine. I very much believe that idea still has legs, but I wonder if I bit off more than I could chew, so the idea is postponed a bit while I build something rather simpler. I am minded presently to build something in three months, rather than committing to something that could take substantially longer. :blush:

My current project was inspired by one of the most common difficulties I see on Stack Overflow - beginner programmers trying to develop and deploy simple email-based forms on a LAMP server. That ought to be the easiest thing in the world, but email is a bit of a “black box” - you use a program to send an email, and then try to debug it. Did the mail() function get called? Were the parameters correct? What PHP system did it talk to to hand off the mail? Sendmail? SMTP? What special idiosyncrasies does your terrible consumer-grade host suffer from when it comes to sending email? Has it got caught in a spam trap? etc.

Solution

So, I am building a little system to help with that. It presents a web-based wizard-style interface to take a bunch of details, and then deploys a working and tested email form on the user’s server. You can even sign up for a completely free LAMP host these days, so I’m using one of those as a test bed.

My system works by allowing the user to deploy a sequence of test scripts to check the system meets the minimum server requirements, what email sending protocol to use, and then finally deploy a real app and send a test message to it. My intention is for the base system to always be free, and then to charge for add-ons.