Are objects Evil now?

(Andy Wootton) #1

@halfer said:

In javaScript, objects are now considered Evil.

As someone who stopped coding before objects took hold and started again after they were discredited, I’m interested :slight_smile:

I’ve worked alongside OO people and it seemed to make sense for simulation of real-world things but I was always uncomfortable when objects were being invented to pin methods or data to.

Hello! Tom here
(Jon) #2

I’m a PHP dev, and in PHP-land we like objects. However, they (or the state they hold) are sometimes regarded as a source of bugs. There’s a famous quote from a critic of OO:

All I wanted was the banana, but I ended up with the gorilla and the whole jungle

I had a try at some Redux in my last role. It uses “reducers”, which are functions that are 100% stateless - they do not store state and you should not carry out unreproducable operations, such as reading a date or generating a random number. This ethic makes them very testable. It also permits “back in time” debugging, so you can reverse the operation of an app to examine (and re-examine) intermediate values in a debugging system.

However - and it is a big however - this restriction gets onerous after a while. The point of objects was that you could operate on a thing without always having to specify it. Saying that OO is harmful results in needing adding another parameter (or several) to all your functions. This works against the Clean Code principle that small numbers of parameters is better, which in turn seemed to be a good idea because having less parameters means there is less to test (especially if you have optional parameters).

I think classes are very testable anyway. You inject mocked values where it needs other objects - and writing these tests early means that classes are kept testable.